What's new

projectors optoma vs sp infocus (1 Viewer)

chris**j

Auditioning
Im just getting into this stuff, but i know i want a front projector. i have been researching for a month and have narrowed it down to either the optoma h31 or the infocus sp 4805 both are with in my budget and i allready compared the specs (projectorcentral.com). im using the bonus room above garrage so light will be no problem. also thinking of running an ht computer. has anyone ever seen them demoed?

Jim Mcc

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jim
Chris, have you read the review of the 4805 at Projectorcentral.com? It got a great review and is very popular. I don't think they reviewed the H31 yet. There is a long thread at Avsforum.com started by "Guitarman" about the H31.

Brian Gi

Stunt Coordinator
The Optoma H30 has developed a reputation for shorter than average bulb life. It may have been rectified with the H31, but who knows?

Infocus has some of the absolute best customer support in the industry. If they cannot fix a PJ within 15 biz days, (If a part is on backorder) they send you a new one.

Hard to argue with Infocus support.

Paul-D

Stunt Coordinator
I don't know if this will help your decision or not, but Costco will have the 4805 on sale from Jan 31-Feb 6. The price will be 1199, then there is a $100 instant rebat, and a $100 manufacture rebate. Making the cost only $999. This includes a 76" screen and a 30' svideo cable. You need to go to the customer service before hand though and ask them for a coupon book. They should give one to you.

Good luck and let us know how things go.

ericSchirm

Agent
That Costco deal pushed me over the edge and because of their return policy. I bought a 4805 last night and I will go back to get the price match. I didn't want them to run out!!

I hooked it up last night and projected onto a black wall. MAN even that looked good! Building the screen this weekend.

KirkP

Agent
Chris,