What's new

Projector Screen Help??? (1 Viewer)

I am considering remodeling my garage and turning it into a home theater room. I am planning on getting a projector and about 110" screen. I am currently leaning towards the Sanyo PLV-Z2 projector. Just haven't had any experience with projectors and screens. I would like to put my center speaker behind the screen, thus I am looking for a good perforated screen.

Just wondering if this is a good idea. Have looked at Da-lite, Screen Research, and some website Myfilmscreen.com.

Looking for any suggestions or opinions.

Carada screens are an excellent price. But, no perforated screens. Is perforated a good idea or should I find someplace else to put my center.

Any help, opinions, or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Scott Dautel

Second Unit
First ... I DON'T have a microperf screen, so I'm no expert ...
I have looked at them quite a bit because I have a setup that gives me little choice but to put the CC speaker behind the screen. Here's what I found.

They are alot more expensive.

They can NOT be had in a [low cost] manual pull-down config.; the only retractable screen that can be had with microperf material is a motor-driven, tab-tensioned, $$$ version. The besxt probably comes from Stewart, but you're looking at several kilo-bucks for such a motor driven unit.
(I suspect the problem is that the microperf material is too easily subject to wrinkling when you roll it up. Wrinkles on a microperf will likely lead to cracks & tears.)

You can, however, order microperf screen material from Dalite & make your own fixed mount screen. This is lowest cost way to do. Fixed mount means you'll likely screw the screen to the wall (or hang a rigid frame from the ceiling)

My conclusion was to find a way to put the center channel speaker just below the screen center when the FP is in use.

YMMV, let me know what you find. You should contact Jason at A/V Science:

Jason Turk
Sales Manager
A/V Science, Inc./AVS Forum, Inc.