Projector/Resolution questions

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by John Parris, Oct 27, 2002.

  1. John Parris

    John Parris Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, so I'm reading more and more about the Panasonic AE-200 and I'm starting to think it might be a serious possibility for my next display upgrade.

    I'd be using a HTPC in conjunction with this, of course... got a few questions.

    The native resolution on the AE-200 is 858 x 484. I'm a little baffled by this, as it's not QUITE a 16:9 aspect ratio... using an HTPC i'd have access to Powerstrip and the like.. How would I go about setting everything up? Would I set Powerstrip to output 858x484? Could this even be accomplished on a Radeon board? Or would I set the resolution differently?

    Also I'm perplexed as to how 4:3 material, such as my Oz or Star Trek DVDs would be handled... would Power DVD or perhaps TheaterTek just make a letterboxed image (with black bars to either side)?

    Last thing would be addressing the OTHER sources... namely PS2/Xbox/Gamecube and my VCR... I would hope to be able to hook up my older 16-bit game systems and good ol' NES as well... Would it be possible to run everything through my source switcher and reciever and to my computer so that I could just get everything to the projector using just the DVI port? What exactly would I need (software AND hardware) to accomplish this?

    I think that's all for now... it's late so I'm not sure... I'll just post again if I have more questions... Thanks in advance for any help you can give.
     
  2. Vince Maskeeper

    Vince Maskeeper Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    You need some sort of vid input card and display software. The popular display program is DSCALER, it is a free, open source community project. In order to use Dscaler, you have to purchase a certain type of input card (it only works with a certain chipset, and the ALL-IN-WONDER input cards from ATI do not work). Dscaler was discussed quite a bit in a thread here just last week, I'd suggest a search.
    Also, you can read the FAQ over at http://www.dscaler.org/ which has plenty of details on how the software works, and what cards to look for.
    -V
    PS: John, I posted some info which you might find helpful here:
    http://www.hometheaterforum.com/htfo...21#post1102421
     
  3. John Parris

    John Parris Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the response and the info, Vince.
     

Share This Page