What's new

Projector or LCD (1 Viewer)

jonnyMa

Agent
Ok im a complete newbie to this game and I dont really have a clue. I am moving house and I have a room to myself to do whatever I please with and have decided to make it into a dedicated tv room. Anyway im stuck between a 50inch Sony 3lcd tv or a projector. I watch a lot of digital tv and lots of dvds and I intend to upgrade to hdtv within the coming months. The room is perfectly rectangular with one window to the front and I have about 2300 dollars to spend on the display device. I will be connecting a ps2, dvd player,sky digibox(dont know if you have these in the states but im sure you know what it is. its a digital tv receiver box) and obviously a surround sound system. Can a projector do this?

I was kinda leaning towards a tv as the modern ones look so attractive and im a bit intimadated by the projector not knowing much about them. However the tv seems to have a lot of drawbacks and people seem to swear by projectors. Any advice on what would be best. If more info is needed just ask. Thanks. Jon.

Oren Paul

Stunt Coordinator
Buy a HD projector. There are several at your price point. The main consideration, can you control the light?

mylan

Screenwriter
If I had it to do over, I would get a projector as well. The Panasonic PT AE900U would come in just under your budget and the online vendors on this site may have a package deal with a screen. Like Oren suggested, can you control the light? Also remember that projector lamps burn out at a much faster rate than rear projection and they are currently 4 to $700 depending on model. Keep this in mind if you plan to watch lots of regular tv on it. Running it 4 to 5 hours a day could prove costly.

Quick shout out: Hey Oren, good to see a fellow Gainesvillian out there, we are even in the same zip code!

Oren Paul

Stunt Coordinator
Quick shout out: Hey Oren, good to see a fellow Gainesvillian out there, we are even in the same zip code!