Projector Confusion

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Scott_Mac, Apr 6, 2005.

1. Scott_Mac

Scott_Mac Auditioning

I'm a newbie doing a new HT in a spare room and have been shopping for components, trying to educate myself. I've read a lot of articles about different projector models and specs and I'm confused about 4:3 vs. 16:9 aspect ratio. The HT will be primarily devoted to DVD movies, but also some TV. I've noticed as I've priced and compared various models that the price seems to go up exponentially as the resolution goes from 1024x768 to 1280x720 and from native 4:3 to native 16:9. But while the price goes up,it seems like the lumen rating drops off dramatically. I would like to have a fairly bright picture without having to completely black out the room.
    Actually, I know there's not a hard and fast answer, but I'd like some opinions from some of you who've been there. Would I be happier getting a brighter XGA 4:3 and cheaper projector or a 16:9 1280x720 and less bright, more expensive unit? My budget is around 2k. Any recommendations on brand or model? Thanks in advance!

2. James Phung

James Phung Second Unit

When you are looking at projectors for home theater use, make sure you're looking at dedicated home theater projectors and not business projectors. Most high lumen projectors are business projectors that favor brightness by losing color saturation. If you watch mostly widescreen content and hdtv then go for a 16:9 projector/screen. If you watch lots of 4:3 content and are bothered by bars on side of 4:3 more than bars above and below picture then go for a 4:3 projector.

What is your budget to begin with? How big of an image do you want? What is your seating position? Are you going to ceiling mount the projector? What is your ceiling height? This would help determine what projector would work best for y ou.

3. Scott_Mac

Scott_Mac Auditioning