projection size???

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Sheldon-m, Dec 11, 2003.

1. Sheldon-m

Sheldon-m Stunt Coordinator

what is a good size for a projected picture? I have been thinking about infocus X1, and it does not have short throw lens. it's max diag 72 to 82". My room is about 12'9".I like the X1 for the cost and the lamp life(and cost of lamp). I have looked up the Z1 & CP-s225w(Hitachi)and the contrast ratio is very low. Z1-800:1 CP-s225w-500:1. X1- 2000:1. Now how big of a factor is this? Because I have light that seeps through the blinds. The lumens level Z1-700, X1-1100, & CP-1400. What would the play in my partially lit room? now if you have native 16x9 there sould not be any black lines? well the reason why I ask is because I have a toshiba 57" wide sceen and it still shows the black lines. Someone told me that it is some times the movie. I'm not sure though. I'm new to front projectors and these are the one people on this site recommended. so any feed well help. Thx

2. DarrinH

DarrinH Second Unit

Off the cuff, a good size of image for a projector seems to be 100" on the diagonal. For widescreen
    Ambient light can be a big factor when it comes to contrast. If you can, use drapes to block out all of the light. Otherwise look for a higher lumenen rating with a higher contrast rating to help fight against the ambient light issue.
    Native 16:9 projectors will still show some "black bar" area (except for a few movies like Shrek, Monsters Inc. which have an aspect ratio of exactly 16:9 or 1.78:1). Movies like Saving Private Ryan are 1.85:1 and will show less black bar area than 2.35:1 movies, such as The Matrix Reloaded. It is always the movie aspect ratio that causes your unused portion of the image.
    The X1 is a 4:3 or "fullscreen" aspect ratio, which is the same as a regular television image. If you plan on watching TV, Satellite or playing a gaming console on your PJ, 4:3 would work ok. Though it will not look as good as a DVD.