Progressive scan with front projection?

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Nick S., Jun 28, 2004.

1. Nick S.

Nick S. Auditioning

Do you all know how difficult it is to find a person who knows what they are talking about when it comes to Home Theater? Obviously so because we are all here. I've been a reader of this forum for some time and I appreciate the opportunity to become more involved. Kudos to you all. I have been a HT hobbyist for many years (pre-prologic era) and I'm now venturing into front projection. This may be a dumb question but here it goes. Do I need a progressive scan DVD if LCD/DLP are inherently progressive scan devices? Can I use my existing player, which is not ps, and save money using the projector as the ps device? Or do I need to invest in a ps dvd player? The "experts" opinions seem to vary on this. Thanks for any help.

2. brentl

brentl Cinematographer

"The "experts" opinions seem to vary on this." That's the point, there are variables involved.

How good is your current DVD player ?

How old is your current player

what de-interlacing chip is in the projector that you're looking at ?

More questions that I can't hink of.

Brent

3. Nick S.

Nick S. Auditioning

Brent,

Thanks for the interest. I hope you enjoyed the little "expert" sarcasm. In answer to you questions..

1- Average sony $150
    2- 4 yrs old/ not progressive scan
    3- No idea. I was told that most projectors will have a better de-interlacing chip than your average dvd player. This must not be the case?

4. Jonathan Smith

Jonathan Smith Stunt Coordinator

Nick,