Progressive Scan not working??

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Matt Mediate, Jan 22, 2003.

  1. Matt Mediate

    Matt Mediate Extra

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check this out. If anyone can figure this out please help. I have a HDTV hooked up to a Progressive DVD Player, and xbox, and a PS2. The DVD and XBOX look great. Especially XBOX which pumps out resolution up to 1080i. However,Only a few titles on PS2 support Progressive Scan. The one I'm referring to is SOCOM U.S. Navy seals. Under the options menu, there is a check box that says Progessive scan. Checking it prompts a warning that you must have a compatible TV etc.. Then the screen does that "thing" that all Tv's do when switchin from interlaced to progressive, yet the picture looks the same. Call me crazy but It actually looks a little worse. The text is kinda washed out and the picture doesn't look as sharp. Let me close by saying that I am using Component cables, running directly into the TV. Just wanted to ad that to get the obvious outta the way. Can anyone think of anything? - Matt
     
  2. Michael TLV

    Michael TLV THX Video Instructor/Calibrator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Real Name:
    Michael Chen
    Greetings

    Depends on your TV. Some sets need to be specially optimized for 480p compared to 480i.

    Regards
     
  3. John-Miles

    John-Miles Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    I ahve also read that there si a different standard for blacks between interlaced and Progresive, i believe its a 7.5 IRE vs a 0 IRE

    this could explain the washed out color you are seeing.
     
  4. NateD

    NateD Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    do the other progressive PS2 games do the same thing ?
     

Share This Page