Progressive scan component inputs

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Josh P, Aug 2, 2002.

  1. Josh P

    Josh P Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there such a thing as prog scan compatable inputs or are all component inputs prog scan compatable? I'm asking because i'm considering buying a fptv and I was wondering whether i have to look for this in particular?
    Thanks
     
  2. Jesse Leonard

    Jesse Leonard Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2000
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes component imputs have to specifically capable to receive a progressive image. Most new TVs all are capable of taking a progessive image. Some older or 4:3 TV's cannot. So yes, this is something that you need to insure the TV has. Component doesn't automatically mean progressive.

    *edit* My wording was rather confusing. Just because a TV has component inputs, does not mean that it can accept a progressive signal. Hope that clears it up.
     
  3. MikeyWeitz

    MikeyWeitz Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The TV itself has to bean HDTV capable TV (or at least EDTV, but those are rare now).
     
  4. Warner

    Warner Agent

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    I'm sorry, but this is a common misconception. I'm sure others will confirm that there are many non-HD, non-progressive scan sets out there, that have component inputs. Right now I have a dvd player connected to my Sony Wega 36FV26 via component, it's not a progressive playeer or a progressive display.
     
  5. RobertR

    RobertR Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 1998
    Messages:
    9,766
    Likes Received:
    197
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
     
  6. Jesse Leonard

    Jesse Leonard Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2000
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I edited my post. I guess my sentence structure could use some work! [​IMG]
     
  7. Jack Briggs

    Jack Briggs Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 1999
    Messages:
    16,738
    Likes Received:
    129
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In fact most new so-called "analog" TVs have component-video inputs--but that doesn't mean progressive scanning.

    On so-called HD-capable or "digital" sets, there are usually two sets of component-video inputs: one for "regular" interlaced signals and a wideband input for HD tuners or prog-scan DVD players.
     
  8. Steve Schaffer

    Steve Schaffer Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 1999
    Messages:
    3,756
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sony and Hitachi give you 2 sets of component video inputs, both of which will accept 480i, 480p, 720p, or 1080i, so you can connect a progressive scan dvd player to one set of inputs and an HD tuner to the other. Some other mfgs also offer 2 component inputs that will accept anything, but as Jack said, some will only do HD or Progressive scan dvd through one of their 2 sets of component inputs.

    High bandwidth component video switching can also be done through some AV receivers or some dedicated component video switchers.
     

Share This Page