1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Progressive from S-Video?

Discussion in 'Displays' started by LaMarcus, Jun 5, 2003.

  1. LaMarcus

    LaMarcus Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can you get a progressive signal from S-video?

    I thought this only happened with component cables. I thought you couldn't do HD resolution off of a S-video.

    A friend of mine has bought a CRT FP a old sony, and it has RGB and S-Video and another connector I've never seen before. But he also has a deinterlacer. And the deinterlacer only has S-video in, but VGA out and RGB out. And it scales all of these high resolutions. But for some reason it's not working, he gets the double picture when he turns on the deinterlacer.

    What's up?[​IMG]
     
  2. JohnnyG

    JohnnyG Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2000
    Messages:
    1,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  3. Michael TLV

    Michael TLV THX Video Instructor/Calibrator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Real Name:
    Michael Chen
    Greetings

    Likely the RGB section is analog as well. RGB does not always meet proper refresh rates or progressive scan.

    Regards
     
  4. LaMarcus

    LaMarcus Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So how in the hell does he have a deinterlacer that has all these resolution options, and all off the in and outs on this thing is composite? This just doesn't make any sense to me.
     
  5. RobertR

    RobertR Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 1998
    Messages:
    9,963
    Likes Received:
    350
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
     
  6. LaMarcus

    LaMarcus Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, that's what we were thinking. Thanks for clearing that up Robert, I really appreciate it.[​IMG]
     
  7. Chris Moe

    Chris Moe Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What is the model number of your friends CRT projector?

    Chances are he will need to buy a transcoder to change the progressive signal into a RGB signal.
     
  8. LaMarcus

    LaMarcus Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok check it out. He has a scaler it has S-video in only, but it has RGB out with two extra connects for v and h. My question is how the hell does the scaler take s-video in and puts out all these different resolutions? I mean it has every resolution possible for output. How can this be done? Does this mean they'll all be interlaced but just at a vey high resoultion like 1080i?
     

Share This Page