What's new

Progressive DVD question (1 Viewer)

Dave_Edmo

Auditioning
Joined
May 10, 2002
Messages
12
Maybe I should of posted this earlier before I made my purchase of my Tosh sd5700.
Since I have a Tosh 65hx81 and it performs internally what a progressive does and since it is also a Tosh, did I waste my money in purchasing the DVD player? It would look like the same processors would be in the equipment.

As for the picture difference between my "old" Tosh sd3205 and the 5700, the picture looks the same.
I will keep the 5700 either way and use it or the 3205 in another room but was just wondering if the progressive should be kept connected to the 65hx81?

Thanks.
 

Jed M

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2001
Messages
2,029
Dave, I have the 4700 and the 5700 should be a better picture than your previous model. Two quick questions, did you hit the switch on the back of the machine to progressive? It is default on interlaced. Also, stupid question but you are using component (colorstream) video right?
 

Dave_Edmo

Auditioning
Joined
May 10, 2002
Messages
12
Yes I am using the colorstream connections and I do have the progressive active (switched to "P" on back of player).
But more importantly, is the processor the same for 3/2 pulldown in my Tosh 65hx81 and Tosh 5700? Or maybe I am just confused again on the whole progressive thing :frowning:
Jed, since you have the 5700, have you had a problem with any DVDs not playing in it? I posted in another thread about not being able to view the 1st Gladiator disc but being able to view the extra disc that came with it. Do you know of any probs with playing any dvds in it? Thanks.
 

Marc Rochkind

Second Unit
Joined
Aug 26, 2000
Messages
381
The difference between doing the processing in the DVD player vs. the TV is subtle, but it's definitely there. To see it, you'll need someone else to operate the switch in the back while you watch the picture.

In theory, the player should be able to do it better, since, unlike the TV, it can operate on the image digitally.
 

Jeffrey R

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Feb 5, 2002
Messages
199
He actually doesn't need someone to flip the switch on the back of the DVD player from progressive to interlaced, since the 5700 has a button on the remote to switch from interlaced to progressive ("colorstream selector" or something like that), as long as the switch in the back is on progressive. I use the 5700 with a Sony HDTV (43HT20), which has a good line doubler with 3:2 pulldown, and I can still see the difference with progressive scan. Progressive definitely looks better to me.
 

Jed M

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2001
Messages
2,029
Jeff, sorry if I was confusing. I meant initially he must switch it from interlaced to progressive scan on the back. I apologize Dave if I had you thinking you had to switch it back and forth every time. Also, no I have not had any trouble playing Gladiator, in fact I just watched it about two weeks ago when I was testing out my new processor.
 

Dave_Edmo

Auditioning
Joined
May 10, 2002
Messages
12
Thanks guys!
Just got a new Gladiator disc and all is well :)
Funny that it plays fine in my SD3205 but not in the 5700(guess it is too picky). Yes I have the option of flipping back and forth on the pro/inter. Now that I have done that while watching From Hell, I see the difference. Thanks again.
On another note, I just hooked up my new reciever(Pioneer vsx811s)and am hearing DD for the first real time. Calibrated with the test tone off Avia and it is unreal!!
Cant believe what I was not hearing with Pro-Logic!
 

Greg_R

Screenwriter
Joined
Apr 9, 2000
Messages
1,996
Location
Portland, OR
Real Name
Greg
With the TV converter you are going from digital (DVD) to analog (DVD out) to digital (TV progressive scalar) to analog (TV prog. scalar output). With a progressive DVD player, you operate directly on the digital stream coming from the disc (i.e. only one D/A conversion). This should yield a better picture. Enjoy the new equipment!
 

AllanN

Supporting Actor
Joined
Mar 15, 2002
Messages
950
Hey Jeff, im thinking of getting a 43HT20 but I have heard that on some of the sony Wegas that you cant use the V-Compression with a 480p progressive signal. Dont know how true it is but have you tried using both of these features at the same time on your 43HT20???? Thanks.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Forum Sponsors

Forum statistics

Threads
348,381
Messages
4,843,929
Members
142,308
Latest member
kp100
Recent bookmarks
0
Top