Progreesive scan question

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Eric Stuckey, Nov 7, 2002.

  1. Eric Stuckey

    Eric Stuckey Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 1999
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    I just got my first HDTV ( ready ) big screen a few weeks back. Im asking the wife for the Panny rp-82 for christmas.My question is, when I switch the button in the back , do I leave it on there for all movies to get the PS feature ? Will all my old movies( firefox,cananbal run ,ect) be in PS?
     
  2. Steve Schaffer

    Steve Schaffer Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 1999
    Messages:
    3,756
    Likes Received:
    1
    It will output progressive scan on any dvd of any movie. The button is on the front, not the back, and you can also do it with the remote control but have to delve into the player menu a ways to find the option.

    The only reason to take it off progressive scan mode is if you're playing a non-anamorphic movie and you have a widescreen set that won't zoom when receiving the progressive scan signal.
     
  3. Jack Briggs

    Jack Briggs Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 1999
    Messages:
    16,738
    Likes Received:
    129
    Eric: If Steve's second paragraph confuses you, please say so. He is correct. JB
     
  4. Eric Stuckey

    Eric Stuckey Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 1999
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    0
    My set is not widescreen.
    The wife hates watching widescreen so I had to compromise just to get the 43" HD(ready) set.But I think I understand him. Thanks for the help.
     
  5. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    [​IMG]
    uh-oh....I can see bad things a-comin. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page