What's new

Processor "Upgrade" a Good One? (1 Viewer)

Hi all,

I am advised by our home theater consultant to replace our Rotel RSP-985 (to Parasound HCA-1205A 5-channel amplifier) with a Denon 3803. Is this a good move?

The obvious concern is that the Denon 3803's internal amplifier will be inferior to the outboard Parasound amp. Our HT "guy" responds that because we utilize a hefty Velodyne sub, the Parasound amp has gone largely underutilized and that I should not notice an audible difference -- and that, even if I do, there is always the option of bypassing the 3803's internal amp for the outboard Parasound.

Sounds good to me, but every sales guy I speak to makes an ugly face and ushers me over to the $5,000+ Parasound and Rotel processors, as if to say that I'm degrading my system somehow by introducing the Denon.

I have no experience with Denon. I only know that the 3803 appears to answer my requirements:

> Need more S-video inputs
> Need multiple component inputs
> Need upconversion
> Integration of Denon w/ Phast automation would supposedly be better than our current Rotel setup. [It IS pretty funky, and Rotel's is perhaps the WORST remote control layout I have EVER seen.]

So, given these requirements, is this a good move?

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Dave

Frank Carter

Screenwriter
Let me get this straight, your "consultant" is telling you to get rid of a Rotel pre/pro and Parasound amplifier to "upgrade" to a Denon receiver?

Shane Martin

Senior HTF Member
Frank,
I'm thinking that the consultant wants him to use the Denon as a pre/pro as opposed to a normal pre/pro such as an Anthem. Am I correct in this assumption?

Frank Carter

Screenwriter
That's what I thought at first but then Dave mentions his concerns about the Denon's internal amps being inferior to the Parasound amps.

Woops. I guess I did confuse the issue by presenting both sides of TWO arguments -- the all-Denon solution and the Denon/Parasound solution.