Problems with Xbox DD playback...

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jason Price, Jan 14, 2002.

  1. Jason Price

    Jason Price Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 1998
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just picked up an Xbox last night (woohoo!), along with the Hi-Def AV Pack. Got home, hooked everything up, set the Xbox to DD and DTS playback and popped in Halo. The first thing I noticed was that there was no sound at all, and my receiver (Yamaha 2095) was rapidly flipping back and forth between Pro-Logic and DD, as if it couldn't lock onto a signal type. Occasionaly, my speakers would spit out a sound for a split second (like a cd skipping), but that's all. If I turn off DD and DTS, but still use the optical connection, it works fine.

    Anyone seen this before, or know what might be causing it? I know the optical cable is good because it's the same one I use for my satellite dish (plus, it works for stereo sound). The only other thing I can think of is the AV Pack itself, which I might go exchange. But, wanted to make sure I wasn't missing something first...
     
  2. pitchman

    pitchman Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 1998
    Messages:
    1,849
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    610
    Location:
    Columbia, MO
    Real Name:
    Gary
    Go into the Xbox Dashboard and in the audio section make sure that Dolby Surround, DD 5.1 and DTS are all selected and enabled. Hopefully, it's just a setting issue.

    Gary
     
  3. Gary King

    Gary King Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 1999
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Chances are, its a defective Xbox (or a defective A/V pack).
     
  4. Jason Price

    Jason Price Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 1998
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gary C-

    All that was enabled, which is what started the problem in the first place. Disabling allowed it to work properly in stereo mode.

    Gary K-

    Ack! Not what I really want to hear. Hopefully, it's just the AV pack...
     
  5. Gary King

    Gary King Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 1999
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, since you picked it up last night, you should just be able to exchange it. A couple of Xboxen have been known to have problems with DD sound.
     
  6. Jay H

    Jay H Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,654
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsfield, MA
    Real Name:
    Jay
    You aren't, by any chance, using a splitter on the optical cable connected to your receiver/processor? I have seen this exact occurance when my X-box is hooked up to my DD processor (Parasound P/DD 1500). Because I am using a splitter to share the toslink connector with a DishNetwork 501 receiver, there is a software problem with the 501 in that it's always emitting a digital signal (red light can be seen at the cable end) such that it interfers with my processor and the effect is that my processor will sit there and autodetect the DD bitstream versus the PCM data from the dish and switch rapidly. I have to physically disconnect the Dish optical cable to get my processor to lock on the X-box.

    Just a thought,

    Jay
     
  7. Jason Price

    Jason Price Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 1998
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, it looks like I have a defective Xbox. [​IMG] Went and picked up another AV pack and optical cable, hooked it up, and had the same problem. Tried a different optical input on the receiver, too, and no luck. Looks like I have to go exchange it now and lose all my saved data. Ah well, at least I can exchange it...
    Jay-
    I have the Xbox connected directly to the receiver via optical cable (no splitter). Thanks for the thought, though...
     
  8. Andrew s wells

    Andrew s wells Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jason...you dont have to lose that data! get a memory card or 2 and transfer your saved games to them! hope i got this message to you in time!
     
  9. Jason Price

    Jason Price Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 1998
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, looks like it was a bad console. Went and exchanged it today, and the new one works perfectly... [​IMG]
    Andrew-
    I did consider that, but decided it wasn't worth the money to save a couple days worth of data. I'll just start over again...
     
  10. Trevor Schell

    Trevor Schell Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 1999
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Interesting.

    I had been playing with out the Hi-Def connections and digital cable since I received my X-Box.

    I just recently picked up a set of Monster component cables as well as the digital cable.

    My receiver would not go into DD mode. Only prologic.

    Going back into the Dashboard I could then see that the DD and DTS had to be activated. ( I just did this after reading this thread)

    Prior to owning the HD acessories and entering the dashboard area ,,these options never even existed.

    This also goes for the Hi-def progressive settings.

    480p and 1080p had to be activated. Prior these options were not to be seen.

    Not seeing these prior, I was unaware that they were avaialabe to activate the digital and progressive features.

    All is well now.

    Thanks,
     
  11. pitchman

    pitchman Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 1998
    Messages:
    1,849
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    610
    Location:
    Columbia, MO
    Real Name:
    Gary
     
  12. Ike

    Ike Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    NFL 2k2 uses the center channel for commentary.
     
  13. Chad Beaudin

    Chad Beaudin Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 1998
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jason, I had the same problem on my XBOX. Got DD sound but it was all static and garbled. Sounded horrible. Anyway, returned it and got a replacement and fixed everything up.
     
  14. pitchman

    pitchman Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 1998
    Messages:
    1,849
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    610
    Location:
    Columbia, MO
    Real Name:
    Gary
     
  15. Dan B

    Dan B Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 1999
    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Gary, the audio quality of the commentary is a bit poor in that game. I mentioned it in another thread about the game in the software section. It does help somewhat to turn the sound effects & crowd level down, and the commentary level all the way up, but it will still sound distorted and muffled.

    -Dan
     
  16. pitchman

    pitchman Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 1998
    Messages:
    1,849
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    610
    Location:
    Columbia, MO
    Real Name:
    Gary
    Dan,

    Thanks for the reply! I was beginning to wonder if I had one of those units with a bad sound chip (due to the lack of center channel in almost every game), but it appears that everything is okay after all.

    Gary
     

Share This Page