1. We suffered a brief outage this morning when our host noticed that HTF needed to be moved to a different server due to a hardware failure. That work is now complete. Please post in the feedback area if you have any issues.
    Dismiss Notice

Problems with VR509 remote

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by John_Quincy, Jan 28, 2002.

  1. John_Quincy

    John_Quincy Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently noticed that the batteries were running low on my remote (no LCD lightup anymore and the blinking battery indicator icon). I replced the batteries within 30 sec (you have up to 10 minuted to retain program settings), but the LCD still does not have a backlight and the battery indicator is still blinking. Anyone have this issue?

    On a side note, I am only able to get one Macro to program right, I get it to turn on the receiver, the TV and the the VCR with no problem. But If I try to program another macro, the TV fails to turn on, or something else fails like the F-Shift Button. Any ideas on this one either?

    If not, I am going to call Kenwood when I have more time tomorrow.

    Thanks,

    John
     
  2. Mike LS

    Mike LS Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2000
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not sure about the macro problem.....I still haven't gotten around to fooling with macros on my system.

    But I've had the battery problem before. I have the VR-4080...last years model, but the remote is basically the same. The first time my batteries ran low, I changed them out and the indicator still flashed and the backlight wouldn't light.

    To tell you the honest truth, I'm not sure exactly what I did to fix it, but I took the batteries out a few times and put them back in (same batteries) and eventually, it reset itself and worked fine (kept all programmed info). I haven't had a problem since.
     
  3. John_E

    John_E Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Funny thing--I just replaced my batteries a couple of days ago in my VR-509 and last night after turning off the lights to watch TV, I noticed that the LCD light didn't work. The battery light wasn't flashing though. It was no big deal to me, because I usually have some light when watching TV. I did go home for lunch today and removed the batteries and put the same ones back in. The light is now back on[​IMG]
     
  4. John_Quincy

    John_Quincy Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am going to try reseating my batteries tonight.

    Thanks,

    John
     
  5. John_Quincy

    John_Quincy Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys, it works now. Now I have to write an email to Kenwood to tell them how lame this is. [​IMG]
     
  6. Mike LS

    Mike LS Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2000
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is kind of weird. But I haven't had another problem, and it's been about a year since I replaced my batteries.
     
  7. John_E

    John_E Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't expain it either.

    Did you get the macro to work? I haven't tried my macros yet. I hope to set some this weekend. I'll let you know how I make out.

    How does the RF function work for you (or any other VR-509/10 owners)? Mine doesn't seem to work at all. I have the receiver on an open bottom shelf with the RF antenna running up the back left wooden post. I have tried both frequency channel with no luck. Any suggestions?

    Thanks!

    John
     
  8. ChristopherS

    ChristopherS Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 28, 2000
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    John_E,

    I have the VR509 and I am having no problem with the RF remote. I can get it to work in a different room although I am not sure why someone would want to do this. I get quite upset when someone "hides" my remote.

    In my case I have the receiver on the top rack (gets the most air) and the RF antenna is actually slightly above both the rack and the receiver. It won't be easy but I suggest raising your receiver to get the RF antenna to work properly.

    I also had no problem creating macros. I did have to reread that section in the manual a few times but I was able catch on pretty quickly once I tried programming a couple. So far the remote works with all my equipment and I have had no other problems (knock on wood).

    Chris
     
  9. John_E

    John_E Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Chris. I'll try moving that antenna around and see how it works. The only reason I want it to work is so that I can control the volume when I'm out side listening to the "B" speakers out on the deck. Being in Buffalo, I won't have to worry about that for a couple more months.
    I'm sure that I'll be able to work the macros. I just haven't tried yet. I love the remote. I control the cable box, DVD, VCR, and CD with it with no problems. My wife even understands how to use it. [​IMG]
     
  10. Tony Richardson

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    John_E

    I was having trouble with the rf remote to. I changed the rf channel to (2) on the receiver and left the remote on channel (1) and it works perfectly now, go figure.
     

Share This Page