Problems with "Planet Of The Apes (2001)" on PC-setup

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Iggy_P, Nov 13, 2001.

  1. Iggy_P

    Iggy_P Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 12, 2001
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    There seems to be a fault with the Tim Burtons "Planet Of The Apes" when playing it on some PCs. Creatives Encore DXR3 player gives a read-error when the movie reaches 16 minutes 42 seconds.
    I have tried different players with no problems - but two different PCs with the Creative player gives the same error.
    I have also tried 2 new Planet-DVDS - both gives the exact same error in the same spot.
    Has anyone experienced the same? It is slightly annoying for me - and apart from this error the DVDs are amazing.
    ------------------
     
  2. Troy LaMont

    Troy LaMont Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 1999
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    0
    Iggy,
    Well, I think your question is a little premature since POA (2001) isn't out in the states yet!
    It streets next Tuesday (11/20), so you may expect a response during that time from myself and others.
    Troy
    ------------------
    :My teacher tells me beauty is on the inside.
    :That's just something ugly people say.
     
  3. steve blake

    steve blake Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2000
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    just got this disc this morning and watched it this evening and there is a problem on my toshiba 3107.the movie skips in 5 different places and the only way to watch the scenes is you have to rewind back to were it skipped it is a real pain.if anyone with a toshiba 3107 gets this film and can't play it properly could they please post a reply.at the end of the day it might be a faulty disc.
     
  4. Jeremy Conrad

    Jeremy Conrad Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2000
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you guys having problems with retail copies or screeners?
    I had a problem with the screener on my creative labs DVD ROM with PowerDVD and we checked with FOX on it. They said there were problems with the screener discs, but the retails should be fine.
    ------------------
    Jeremy Conrad
    Editor, IGN DVD
    http://dvd.ign.com/
    DVD Profiler: http://www.dvdprofiler.com/mc.asp?alias=ManaByte
     
  5. Iggy_P

    Iggy_P Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 12, 2001
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried two retail copies of the US release.
    I hope to hear more, when the DVD is released in the US.
    ------------------
     
  6. Iggy_P

    Iggy_P Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 12, 2001
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I forgot:
    I also tried playing the DVDs on my PC using PowerDVD, and they played with no problems.
    I only had problems when using the Creative player for playback on my Television, so it may be a Creative specific problem.
    ------------------
     
  7. Leon Liew

    Leon Liew Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Quote :
    the movie skips in 5 different places and the only way to
    watch the scenes is you have to rewind back to where it
    skipped.
    Just finished watching the DVD and I did not encounter
    the above problem. My player is the Pioneer 525 and it
    works like a dream. Could be player problems. Have not tried on the PC yet though.
     
  8. Joe michaels

    Joe michaels Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 1999
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have it and when it was running My PC locked up! Not at that scene but during the menu selection. I don't think it's a defect.
    --------------------------------
    My Site: www.joeshometheater.com
    DVD,MOVIE, AND GAME NEWS
    now updated every 15 minutes.
     

Share This Page