Problems with Comcast Cable HD Box

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Kage, Apr 27, 2004.

  1. Kage

    Kage Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    A few months ago, I got HD service from Comcast and it had no problems, the receiver that I gotis a Motorola 5100 (silver color). Lately, I'm having problems with it. The problems are pixelization, freezing, and audio droputs. This occurs on all the HD channels the I have. Is this a problem with this particular HD cable box model? Does Comcast have better HD Cable boxes?
     
  2. Chuck Mullen

    Chuck Mullen Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kage,
    What area are you in? I am in Montgomery County, MD. (Washington DC suburb)
    I have problems identical to yours and would like to know whats going on without calling Comcast and talking with someone who has no idea what I am talking about.
     
  3. Michael__M

    Michael__M Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds like a signal problem to me. I would have the cable guys come out and check the signal strentgh.
     
  4. BenK

    BenK Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm in Michigan and I get pixelation and audio dropouts occasionally using the same box. Its not very common but then again I dont really watch HD cable much.
     
  5. Ramon A

    Ramon A Agent

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have had hd service for a while and on ocasion have noticed what you are talking about but 99 percent of the time mine is fine. however when my cable guy was last out he said that the problem was due to signal strength. now i have five boxes hooked up and 2 signal boosters to help with signal feed. comcast claims there only rated to send signal to 2 sources without a drop in strength. so i would try adding signal strength with a power booster you can get one at radio shack.

    Im not shure signal booster is the proper name but its an electric plug with a cable in and a cable out conected to it. or com cast will come out and take care of it for you and test you signal strength.
     
  6. Dan Driscoll

    Dan Driscoll Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    2
    Funny, I had exactly the same problems you are describing last night, while I was trying to watch CSI:Miami. My box is also a Comcast/Motorola 5100 and I'm in Fremont, CA.
     
  7. Jason-K

    Jason-K Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently got comcast HD as well, and although Im loving it, I also see some pixelization. I live in Northern CA, bay area, what are my other options for HDTV? I wouldn't mind getting more channels. Is comcast the best for this?
    Jay
     
  8. Ramon A

    Ramon A Agent

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    just so you know i had dss and had the same pixel problems. for what ever reason digital signal has this with both comcast and dss but i believe comcast has less of it.
    i personally believe it has more to due with scrambling the signal so you cant pirate it. but i could be wrong and as far as channels i think they both have about the same amount at least in northern cali butt dss does allow you to watch channel on east coast time so if you want to watch the tonight show or some other show earlier you can.
     
  9. Chuck Mullen

    Chuck Mullen Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0


    Do you mean that if you have HBO in HD than dss gives you east and west feeds? If so thats cool! I don't have that with comcast.
     

Share This Page