Problems Setting Up Denon AVR 4800

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Pete J, Jul 23, 2001.

1. Pete J

Pete J Auditioning

[​IMG] I have been using my home theater setup for a few months now but I still cant figure the settings to connect my VCR and LD player to my RPTV. All is well if I hook them directly to the TV with audio/video cable. But if I connect them to the VCR and LD inputs of the receiver, I get nothing. I need help (instructions on setup) from an experienced Denon 4800 owner.
    Is anyone out there?
    Pete J
    ------------------

2. Kelly Webb

Kelly Webb Auditioning

hello pete,
    if you are using s video connections then just run one out of your vcr to 4800 and likewise from your ld and connect to the ins on the 4800,they will be on the far right next to the cooling fan,after doing that, run one s video cable from the s video monitor out on the 4800 to your tv. if you are using composite connections you would do the same thing as stated before but with rca connects of course. also if you already have something else like a sat. rec. connected using s vid and you are trying to do the ld and vcr by using composite connects it probably will not work that way,not for sure but the 4800 will only work with everything connected in the same manor such as all rca's or all s vid's.hope this helps.
    kelly

3. Kelly Webb

Kelly Webb Auditioning

pete,
    i believe i misunderstood your question. just remember to press the appropriate function on the denon remote when you want to see a picture from each piece of equipment such as vcr and vdp. if everything is connected via the same way with same type connts then you should see a picture when you press vcr,vdp or dvd or whatever,just be sure that you have your tv on the video 1 or however you have it set up to watch the video option on your tv.
    hope this helps.
    Kelly

4. DanG

DanG Stunt Coordinator

quote: Originally posted by: Pete J