Problem with System. Not enough house power

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Mike Bassi, Feb 7, 2004.

1. Mike Bassi

Mike Bassi Stunt Coordinator

Ok, I have a problem with my house wiring. When the bass goes off the lights dim, and there is no way to fix this. The way the house was built 27 years ago is that it has a slab foundation and vaulted celings. Now I'm an electrical contractor, but there is no way to correct this problem. Now what I need is something that I can plug my woofer into that would suck so much power away from any lighting in the house. The woofer is a 10 inch Sunfire Sub with 2700 watts.

Thanks in advance
    Mike

2. George_W_K

George_W_K Screenwriter

George
    Maybe your circuits aren't balanced well at the panel. Use your clamp-on amp meter and check the amperage on each breaker. Maybe you can switch a couple of circuits around to different breakers to balance the load on each phase properly.

There aren't any access points at all to your wiring? No crawl space? Is the entire house a vaulted ceiling, or do you have an attic somewhere?

Does the same thing happen, no matter which receptacle you use? The receptacle you are currently using may be connected to too many other loads. I had that problem in my room. One of the receptacles was connected to the same circuit as my HT equipment. I plugged my vacuum in and the circuit would always trip. I just use a different plug.

Did you do the wiring in your house since you're an electrical contractor? I am just wondering if it would be easier for you to have some recollection of what is wired to what. Although if you can remember something you wired 27 years ago, more power to ya![​IMG]

Those are the only suggestions I can think of right now. I don't know of any equipment that is available for your problem, so hopefully someone else can jump in.

Hope I helped somewhat,
    George

3. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Wayne
    Mike,