What's new

Problem with Sony digital camera and firewire (1 Viewer)

Mike_Carroll

Agent
Joined
Oct 31, 2001
Messages
30
Greetings,
Recently, my Dad bought a Sony digital video camera. I installed a firewire connection on his ME OS and got the hardware configuration to recognize it. However, when we plugged in the camera, the computer failed to recognize a new device and look for correct driver. I assumed I should download the driver from Sony's website, but there wasn't any driver support on this product, and there was no software that came with the camera. Nobody at the dealer in Boise had any idea what to do. After an hour on hold, I gave up on their phone support and they never responded to my e-mail. Has anyone got the Sony video camera to work with firewire, and if so, what hoops does one have to jump through.
Best regards,
Mike Carroll Jr.
Link Removed
 

Jeff Kleist

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Dec 4, 1999
Messages
11,267
Mike, I've never had Windows recognize a new device with my setup. Did you try going into your editing software and performing a capture? Those drivers are what connects to the camera, and since Sony has basically set the standard for interface with their iLink chipset, I'd assume it'd be tested
Jeff Kleist
 

Mike_Carroll

Agent
Joined
Oct 31, 2001
Messages
30
Jeff,
Usually Windows will see that you have a new device connected and search for a compatible driver, as I have experienced setting up digital still cameras to USB. It was as if the camera was not even plugged in. One may think that there was a problem with the Firewire device, but when going into device manager, it indicated that it was functioning properly.
I did try a capture from the bundled editing software, as you suggested, but Capture was grayed out, indicating that a camera was not plugged in, according to the documentation. At this point, I'm wondering if there is a device that goes between the camera and the Firewire port.
Best regards,
Mike Carroll Jr.
Link Removed
 

Jeff Kleist

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Dec 4, 1999
Messages
11,267
Right, I know Windows usually pops something up. With my setup it does not when I plug in the camera. The driver handles all communication
Jeff Kleist
 

Jeff Kleist

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Dec 4, 1999
Messages
11,267
I'm using a Pinnacle DV200 board with a JVC GRDVL-9800 camcorder (which contains the Sony iLink chipset)
Jeff Kleist
 

Mike_Carroll

Agent
Joined
Oct 31, 2001
Messages
30
Thanks for the tip Jeff!
I'll look into that Pinnacle board.
......................
Best regards,
Mike Carroll Jr.
 

Darren Lewis

Supporting Actor
Joined
Jul 17, 2000
Messages
534
I've got a Sony DCR-PC110E which I can connect to my PC through a standard firewire port. I'm using Win2000 Pro.
The computer doesn't come up with a "found new hardware" box when you plug the camera in. I tried using the camera with a demo version of Adobe Premiere and everything was OK (selected the PC100 in Adobe).
Make sure your firewire card is OHCI compliant (some of the older ones are not and will not work without problems).
------------------
My HT My DVD Collection
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Forum Sponsors

Forum statistics

Threads
347,534
Messages
4,817,540
Members
142,120
Latest member
mackaudio
Top