What's new

problem with new "hd" compatibe xbox gun (1 Viewer)

Sean Patrick

Supporting Actor
first off, the gun works great with House of the Dead 3. problem is, if you unlock House of the Dead 2 (the main reason i got this game!) - the gun does not work at ALL. what gives?

Doug_H

Supporting Actor
I am not an expert on this but I believe the problem is caused by the 720p.

Most of these guns work by sending an all white frame on the second series of interlaced lines. By going progressive you scip this and there is nothing for the gun to register a hit with.

I think that is the basic idea but I am sure others can explain it better than I.

Sean Patrick

Supporting Actor
well House of the Dead 3 works fine in progressive with the new gun, just not House of the Dead 2 (which is unlockable on the disc).

madcatz says these guns aren't even supposed to be out yet. very strange....

Sean Patrick

Supporting Actor
ok this is getting strange. madcatz tech support says theses guns aren't even supposed to be out in the US yet.

first off i got it at a Software Etc in Atlanta. Only started looking after someone on gamefaqs said they were slowly being released.

i was playing in component / 480p mode, and the House of the Dead 3 played perfectly. only issue was that i had to calibrate VERY close to the tv. but once i unlocked House of the Dead 2 the gun didn't work.

I had to go uncheck 480p on my dashboard, then it worked decently but looked very poor. there's no reason why 480p would work with the gun for HOTD3 but not HOTD2, since they obviously spiffed up the graphics for HOTD2 (looks exactly on par with HOTD3).

anyway i took a picture of the box and sent it to madcatz tech support since they were denying these had been released. the box is the same, it's just in the little red box towards the bottom over the "for xbox" logo it says it has progressive scan support.

it's very frustrating since the main reason i wanted this game was to play HOTD2. argh.

Max Leung