What's new

Problem with JBL PSWD-112 amp (1 Viewer)

Rick Guynn

Second Unit
I decided to post this here instead of in the speakers area since it is more of a technical nature.

I am hoping maybe someone else might have some experience with this and be able to narrow my search a bit. I am a novice at electronics (I can read schematics, know the basics and have the tools) but I appreciate any help I can get.

Anyway, my amp recently exhibited a problem of appearing to become 'less sensitive' on the input (low-level). It would take quite a bit to kick it on, and then it would turn off as soon as it lost sufficient signal instead of waiting the 15 mins it is supposed to.

So I got the service manual, which had a service bulletin in it regarding cold solder on the primary 'amp module'. The bulletin merely called for desoldering and resoldering all (28) of the connections.

I performed the soldering job, after which time the sub worked.. sort of. Now it would not turn off, but appeared to be producing sound as normal. So I decided to let that go.

A couple of days later I decided to try and set my speaker levels. I ran a signal through the sub (50 Hz I think) and it began clipping (I didn't really have it up that loud) badly.

Now it will not play anything without apparently going into overload. The signal LED on the front panel flickers between green and red and the sub 'sounds' like it is clipping.

I have no idea what I could have done to exacerbate the amp problem.... anyone have any siggestions? I have a scope and amp planning on trying to trace the signal through the circuit this weekend, but it would be nice to have something to look out for.

Thanks in advance.

Rick Guynn

Rick Guynn

Second Unit