What's new

problem with getting progressive scan with proper resolution to work please help (1 Viewer)

mike jau

Auditioning
ok i used fathers day to manipulate my mom into buying a ws-a55 mitsubishi tv and a dd-6030 mitsubishi dvd player from best buy....i know you shouldnt buy quality tvs from a place like that but i live in northern michigan and my opions are very limited. so im new to the whole hdtv thing im much more into computers but i figured i could figure this out. well i got the yPbPr monster cable and from what i would understand id connect that to a component input on the tv and i should be able to get some kind of good resolution. i can only get 480i or 480p and i cant even tell the difference in the two. now i was beliving that because i dont have a hdtv decoder yet for my direct tv that id be able to get high res from watching a dvd. ive read the manuals and gone threw the menus and im stumped. theres no way this is as good as it gets and im sure im either doing something wrong or missing something. and since my dads old fashion he naturally thinks the tvs way to big and is threating to take it back if i cant figure this out and wow him with it. so if you have and suggestions id totally appreciate it and thanks in advance

Patrick Sun

Senior HTF Member
The TV's line doubling feature might be making it tough to discern the difference between 480i and 480p. Once you do get a HDTV source, you should be able to see a difference in terms of video quality.

Also, give the set some time to break in, but you should take precautions not to run the TV's picture/brightness setting too high. Calibration of the set is also recommended to get the best picture possible (via Avia or Video Essentials as a first step, and later, professional video calibration if you can swing the investment).

mike jau

Auditioning