problem with Dayton ground loop video filter...

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Anthony*B, Feb 19, 2004.

  1. Anthony*B

    Anthony*B Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey guys, I ordered this little device as a last resort to try & kill the ground loop hum that is apparently causing my speakers/sub to hum/buzz...is there some secret to where I'm supposed to attach this? i attached it at every possible place inside the house i could think of between the coax coming in & the sat receiver...it would not let a signal through anywhere, as I always got the "searching for satellite signal" message on screen...any ideas? (i cant put it between the sat receiver & other components since im using S-Video out of the receiver, not coax)...am i missing something?
     
  2. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,098
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    Anthony,

    You didn’t give us any info on the device, or a link. It’s hard to advise you how to use it if we don't know anything about it.

    You noted this was a “last resort” effort, but I did a search on your posts and found nothing where you had asked for any help with the problem. Maybe we should start there.

    For instance, since you note that you have a satellite, my first inclination is to ask if it has a separate ground from house electrical ground – that being the copper ground stake by the breaker panel. If that’s not the problem, some more information about your system would help.

    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  3. Mike_Skeway

    Mike_Skeway Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it is the device I think it is, it has a bandwidth of 100 MHz to 1 GHz. I do not know what your satellite needs. The first thing I would look at, as Wayne suggested, is if the satellite is using a different ground than the rest of your house. You need a common ground to avoid ground loops. This is an easy thing to fix. I am guessing that the device you mention just might not be compatible with your satellite.
     
  4. Anthony*B

    Anthony*B Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmm...okay....you guys are probably right, the device may not be compatible w/ my system...as for the grounding problem, i never thought of that specifically...the sat was already at the location when we moved in & perhaps it it incorrectly set up...are you saying it should or should not be grounded w/ the same ground as the house (much of which is not grounded...you would not believe this place [​IMG] )...I will try to find someone to help me ascertain if my sat is grounded improperly (or not at all...grrrr)
     
  5. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,098
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    Yes. There should be a single electrical ground, typically a copper stake at the breaker panel. Any grounding on the satellite dish – the dish it self and/or the coaxial feed – should be grounded at the same stake. Ground loops occur when there are two paths to ground.

    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  6. Mike_Skeway

    Mike_Skeway Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Old house I take it?

    Everything should be grounded to the same common ground, electrical, cable TV, satellite, telephone, etc.
     
  7. Gary Thomas

    Gary Thomas Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 1999
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    1
    In my case everything is grounded at a single stake & I still have a ground loop! I have the satellite, telephone & electric all run to a common point.

    I know my loop is caused by the satellite, but the only way I was able to fix it was to lift the ground on both my subwoofer amp & subwoofer eq.

    I know using cheater plugs is not ideal, but I've run out of options!
     
  8. Mike_Skeway

    Mike_Skeway Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheater plugs work. [​IMG]
     
  9. Anthony*B

    Anthony*B Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mike:
    hehe, old house is putting it mildly...Willy Wonka would be proud of our house in that there is not a 90 degree angle to be found [​IMG]
     
  10. Mike_Skeway

    Mike_Skeway Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0


    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page