What's new

Problem with a Yamaha DSP A1 (1 Viewer)

Thira

Agent
My Yamaha DSP A1 shuts off when the volume is slightly more than 1/4 max. Does anyone know why it does this?
I am new to home theater and recently built a media room, 22'x20'. The room was pre wired during construction. Along the front wall is a Panasonic 50' plasma TV. The components include:
Yamaha DSP A1
Sony Turntable
Samsung TS160 HDTV Tuner
Adcom ACE-315 Surge Supressor
Adcom GFA-555 Power Amp (for 4 speakers around pool- two Bose mounted under a Lanai & two rock speakers in the Garden, two other rooms each with two speakers)
CSI Speaker selector for the speakers running off the Adcom GFA-555
Harman/Kardon TU930 AM/FM Tuner with a Terk FM50 antenna in the attic (wish I had a solution for an AM antenna for reception of far away college football games)
Pioneer 563A-S DVD Player( I plan to replace with a Denon 5900)
The Yamaha DSP A1 drives
MonitorAudio Silver SLR center channel speaker
MonitorAudio Silver S10 x2
MonitorAudio Silver S1 x2
MonitorAudio SFX Surrounds x2
Velodyne HSG 18
I had never had this problem previously when the Yamaha was connected in another room with a much lower end 6 speakers (2 fronts, center, two rears and subwoofer).
Secondly if I were to replace the yamaha, what would one recommend to complement the components in my system? I am trying to better my knowledge of Home Theater and would like a quality system without getting totally out of control on the cost.
Thank you for the anticipated reply.

DonnyD

Screenwriter
Just a couple of guesses here....
1) check the ohms of your speakers at the speaker wires at the receiver to see the REAL load per channel....this will confirm the load of the speakers and tell you if you're driving the wrong load for the Yam. Be sure to unhook the speaker wires from the receiver for this.
2) check continunity of each speaker wire too....this should tell you if you have a wiring problem somewhere or a blown voice coil.