Problem in 16:9 mode on phillips tv

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Joseph Parisi, Mar 20, 2002.

  1. Joseph Parisi

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a Phillips 32pt81s, its a flat tube tv. When I change from 4:3 to 16:9 when watching dvds I can see three lines at the top of the tv, one green, one blue, and one red.

    Is this normal, or is there something wrong with the tv.

    Also, my tvs autolock already has a 4 digit code, is there anyway to erase this and put in a new one, thanks
     
  2. Joseph Parisi

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    anybody? anybody?
     
  3. Allan Jayne

    Allan Jayne Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 1998
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You want to look for some electronic matting controls, possibly named "vertical blanking [something or other]". THey would be most likely found in service menus.
    If you find more than one such control, turn the brightness way down and turn the contrast way up (so all the scan lines stand out but not to the point where anything appears vividly bright). Make small adjustments to see if scan lines get lopped off the top and bottom and sooner or later the offending lines should disappear. Now lower the contrast and raise the brightness back to where you calibrated them.
    Otherwise you will have to live with the problem or make cardboard mattes.
    Video hints:
    http://members.aol.com/ajaynejr/video.htm
     
  4. Joseph Parisi

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the reply, I'll give it a try.
     
  5. NickSo

    NickSo Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2000
    Messages:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nick So
    About your autolock, try checking in the users manual, the factory might default it to like 1234 or something like that... its a long shot, but sometimes they do...
     

Share This Page