Pro-Logic II; Is it decoded via digital inputs?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Robt_Moore, Jun 14, 2002.

  1. Robt_Moore

    Robt_Moore Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    A la DTS or Dolby Digital?

    Is best decoding for LD players in DPL II via a digital output or the analog outputs? For example, Raiders of the Lost Ark (digital audio track).

    I would assume the issue is moot if the LD only has an analog audio track?

    Or, is this a function of the particular receiver? It seems to me that high end Yamahas used to boast that they decoded DPL in the digital realm.

    I am probably going to get a Yamaha HTR-5550 and plug in my Pioneer CLD-D502, if that makes any difference.

    Thanks.

    Bob.
     
  2. Roberto Carlo

    Roberto Carlo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    It operates with both PCM digital or analog outputs. It also, as in the case of some DVDs and digital cable, works on the non 5.1 Dolby Digital signal being output.
    I don't have Raiders. On my OT Star Wars laserdiscs, I use the optical output on my player and it works just fine. I don't know if it's better than the analog. That's just the way I set my defaults. The results are very satisfying.
     
  3. Kevin C Brown

    Kevin C Brown Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Messages:
    5,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    DPL II also works on a 2.0 Dolby Digital signal too.
     

Share This Page