Price check.... Paradigm

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jeff_Ace, Jan 8, 2002.

1. Jeff_Ace

Jeff_Ace Extra

I am new to HT and am starting off with a Marantz sr5000. I am going to listen to a set of Paradigm Titans with the cc170 and Atoms for surrounds. What price should I pay? I was thinking $600 out the door, but I thought I'd throw the question out there and see what inputs I receive. For LFE I am probably going with the Sony SA-WM40 (have seen a lot of good reviews, and this sub is within my price range).

2. Evan H

Evan H Stunt Coordinator

The titans list at $210, don't know about the cc-170... my dealer give me a straight 15% reduction.

3. John Garcia

John Garcia Executive Producer

John
    I got 4 Titans and a cc170 for $600. I'd honestly say, unless you are getting the Atoms for size reasons, get 4 Titans. Price difference is so minimal it's not worth it NOT to get Titans all the way around.

4. brentl

brentl Cinematographer

Funny John that is the exact opposite of what I woud say.

4 Atoms. Get them now though the price will jump when the version 3s come out.

Atoms are a HUGE value, with a very smooth sound.

Brent

5. John_E

John_E Stunt Coordinator

If you can get to Canada, it would be well worth it. I just bought 4 Atoms/CC170/PDR-10 from a dealer in Canada for $1000 Canadian which is about $625 US. They itemized the bill as $200 for the CC170, $200 for each pair of Atoms, and $400 for the PDR-10. I believe that the Titans were about $40-$50 more for each pair, but I really liked the accuracy of the Atoms over the Titans. You really can't go wrong with either set up, but I would recommend either getting 4 Atoms or 4 Titans for a seamless soundstage.

Good Luck.

6. John Garcia

John