PrePro vs Reciever

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Brad Jay, Feb 13, 2002.

1. Brad Jay

Brad Jay Agent

Obviously I'm a newbie to this HT Forum with this question but with all this 950 prepro talk what is the difference between a pre-pro and a receiver. Positives and negatives of each and do you need a seperate amp with a prepro or are they the same thing.

2. Rachael B

Rachael B Producer

Rachael Bellomy
    Brad, a pre/pro is essentially a reciever without the built-in amps. Let me take part of that back, a pre/pro may or may not include a built-in radio tuner. A reciever by definition has a pre/pro, amps, and tuner on a single chassis. That's convient but except for extremely expensive recievers they usually cut corners on some aspects of the unit.
    I really favour the pre and seperate amps aproach. Your pre is always easy to upgrade. 2 1/2 years ago I brought home a Marantz AV9000 pre and sliped it right into my system. I kept te same amps and just disconnected my Pioneer Elite pre. I expect to do the same thing again eventually when another pre strikes my fancy.
    One thing I hardly ever hear mentioned as a disadvantge of recievers is that the heat of the amps wearing on the unit's other components. I believe that they do. Since 1992 I've had 3 pre's and none ever went to the shop. Some might say I was just lucky and there's some truth to that I'd have to concede. But, I believe seperates will last longer.
    I believe seperates usually sound better. Power amps with their own power supply, not shared like most recievers, usually perform better than those in recievers.
    A reciever is convient but I think seperates are better. If your budjet allows, I think you should strongly consider the Outlaw pre that's due out soon. For the $899 they are going to be charging for it, it sounds like the best value in a pre in ze hiztory ob ze wurld! ...to me and many others hanging around this forum. Then you can buy the amps of your choice.