Premium interconnects, what's the real deal?

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by ShawnKubik, Aug 4, 2004.

1. ShawnKubik

ShawnKubik Extra

I'm a home theatre noob, but a computer technician and car performance & audio enthusiast for quite some time... so i finally delved into getting myself a little home theatre setup, consisting of:

-27" flat screen TV w/ svideo/component inputs
    -Sony STR-DE597 6.1 reciever
    -Pioneer AV341 DVD player
    -Sony middle of the road center & rear channel speakers
    -Sony 3 way floorstanding front channels with 12" woofers
    -JBL E250P subwoofer

It's basically been a piece here a piece there, a deal here a deal there kinda thing and I live in a 900sq/ft apartment so some huge TV and a much more expensive setup might be budgetable but not desired, just want some more enjoyment from watching my movies, something i'd be doing on tv speakers in the past....

what i'm questioning is the validity of these highly priced interconnects for coax/component by monster cable and the like, currently i run the video output of the dvd player directly to the input of the TV with a 10$ set of "gold plated" component cables i got at like what, target i think? picture looks just fine...

for the coax audio connection between the dvd player and the reciever i used a single RCA video cable from some old camera or something laying around, again... no hints of distortion or otherwise problems

other than the better physical strength of the high priced primo cables, do they offer any performance benefit in my setup or anyone else that isn't willing to spend the cash just to have the brand name part?

2. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Wayne
    This is a hotly debated subject, but some people report improvements with high-priced cables (although $10 is too cheap to be considered “premium” cables).