What's new

Preamps, amps, and the rest of the story... (1 Viewer)

Kurt Hectic

Auditioning
Greetings everybody,
I'm new to this whole audiophile business, and I am planning on getting a pair of floorstanders with the required electronic equipments to drive them.
I often hear terms like preams, amps, receivers, etc...
I know that amps amplify the signal coming directly from a CD player or through a receiver before feeding it into the speaker.
What get me confused though is the fact that most receivers today are powered and can function without amps.
I also heard that an amp could function without a receiver.
Last but not least, what's the deal with preamps or proamps? What's their job anyways?
I know I've tackled a rather broad subject, so I wouldn't mind if you provided me with a link to the information I'm seeking instead of directly answering my questions.
Thanks in advance everyone :)

Guy Usher

Supporting Actor
I filled up about two pages before I had to stop because what you are asking is not quite that simple. I will try to break it down into as simple a project as I can without starting a food fight. . .
In your case, being a novice and without knowing your budget, it looks like you need a receiver. I will try to break it down into a couple catagorys(sp) I am sure we will get fired on. . .
1-Receivers= 1 box combining amps, preamps, switching video and audio, includes processors for the different soundfields DD, DTS etc. All this must operate on a single 15amp electrical circuit.
2- Seperates= individual componets for the seperate funtions listed above. 1 box for amps some will work on 20amp electrical circuits giving you more power. If you still want more power then all you have to do is buy more boxes.
Seperate boxes for switching and processors. . .
I am at the 10yard line, someone will pickup this ball. . .

alan halvorson

Senior HTF Member
Amplifier - powers the speakers.