Pre/pro output Volts to Amps input sensitivity

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Kevin. W, Mar 22, 2002.

  1. Kevin. W

    Kevin. W Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 1999
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was wondering if someone can explain the relationship of a Pre/pro's out put Voltage to the Amps input sensitivity. I remember reading some where that if the Pre/pro doesn't put out the proper Voltage then the Amp won't reach its max output??

    Kevin
     
  2. chung

    chung Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  3. Saurav

    Saurav Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    2,174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If the pre-pro's maximum output is lower than the amp's sensitivity, then yes, you won't get "full output", meaning, you won't be able to push the amp all the way to clipping. With modern gear, this is pretty unlikely, because most pre-pros have 2V max output, and most amps have .5V - 1V input sensitivity. Also, this has nothing to do with whether the combination plays loud enough, this is about whether you can push the amp to its maximum.
     

Share This Page