Powerstrip... widescreen thru s-video??

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Adam.Heckman, Jan 18, 2005.

  1. Adam.Heckman

    Adam.Heckman Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just got a computer hooked up to my home theater. It's great to have all our music on tap like that.

    I have a question tho. I have a radeon card w/ vga, dvi, and s-video out. I have a philips direct view HD TV 30". Right now I'm not using my ATI DVI-to-component adapter 'cause it's causing odd magenta lines to appear on all inputs.

    Anyways... is there a way to change my resolution over the s-video using powerstrip so that it's a 16:9 image? I'd love to be able to use the whole screen. Thanks.
     
  2. Dave_Olds

    Dave_Olds Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, at least I am reasonably sure no....S-Video is 480i and only 4:3....I am not aware of anyway to manipulate it to 16:9 natively....I am sure someone will pipe in with the technical reasons soon enough....or correct me [​IMG]

    You have to figure out the component problem and fix it to get what you want....
     
  3. WayneO

    WayneO Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Which Radeon?
     
  4. Adam.Heckman

    Adam.Heckman Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A cheap one I bought at Microcenter.... I believe the maker is Powerspec, and it's powered by the 9250.

    DVI, S-video, and VGA. 128mb ram. Not a bad deal for 40 bucks for a non-gaming system.
     
  5. ChristopherDAC

    ChristopherDAC Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,729
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Aspect ratio is not native to S-video or composite. For instance, there are anamorphic 16:9 widescreen "squeeze" LaserDiscs, which is a baseband NTSC recording format, and anamorphic DVDs can be shown over a composite or S connection just fine. You should not be able to get more than "480i" resolution, but you should be able to squeeze your screenshape although it may prove tricky. Try simply setting your resolution to 480*853.
     
  6. WayneO

    WayneO Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I asked the model to help diagnose the DVI to Component adapter problem. Unfortunately, the 92xx series is not supported for the adapter and is the reason you are getting the magenta stripe problem. You need a 95xx series or higher to use your dongle.
     
  7. Adam.Heckman

    Adam.Heckman Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Problem with that is: on my 'main' computer I have a 9600 and that is the one with the magenta lines. I haven't tried it with the 9250 yet. Sorry for any confusion.
     

Share This Page