Powering a passive sub with an old receiver?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Scott Miller, Oct 29, 2002.

  1. Scott Miller

    Scott Miller Agent

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've seen mention of doing this here and I never thought about it until my brother said he was upgrading his receiver and doesn't have the budget for a new powered sub. I'm not quite sure how you would accomplish this. The idea is quite simple, but just not sure of the logistics. Help?
     
  2. ChrisHeflen

    ChrisHeflen Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2002
    Messages:
    912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Where is the signal coming from? The line level sub out of the new receiver?
     
  3. Doug_B

    Doug_B Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Generally speaking, one can power a passive sub with an old receiver. It sounds like the new receiver will have a line level sub output. One can feed this into a source input of the old receiver (but not the phono input). Then connect the speaker terminals of the old receiver to the passive sub's speaker terminals. The old receiver's volume should be set to a fixed level so that the new receiver's volume will control the output of all speakers. One issue is whether the passive sub can be driven with the power available in the old receiver. Different subs have different power requirements.

    Doug
     

Share This Page