Power Output of SVS Amp

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by MikeKaz, Apr 27, 2004.

  1. MikeKaz

    MikeKaz Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have an amplifier that I got from SVS to power my sub, the Samson S1000. I am using it to run a speaker for an engineering application, and I need to know how I can measure the power output from the amplifier for a given volume setting. I have seen rather involved methods of measuring it using an oscilloscope and a voltmeter, but I was wondering if there were devices which could measure the power output to the speaker directly.

    Thank you
    Mike Kazlauskas
     
  2. Greg_R

    Greg_R Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2000
    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Real Name:
    Greg
    I'm confused... a voltmeter (and oscilloscope) will measure the power directly. Hook up the voltmeter to the load's terminals and measure the power with the voltmeter. If the voltmeter doesn't have a 'power' setting, measure the DC voltage and current. Power = current * voltage. The number will obviously change at different volume settings.

    If you need a more complex measurement, please elaborate. RMS power can be determined but not while you are driving a speaker (since it's a reactive load).
     
  3. Mike SJ

    Mike SJ Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. MikeKaz

    MikeKaz Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's the thing- I need the power that is actually going through the speaker, not just the power output from the amp for a given setting across a dummy load. I am running a sine tone if this makes it easier. I know that there are actual power measurement devices or power measurment software packages that can be used with oscilloscopes to measure instananeous power. Theres at least one way I could use a regular digital multimeter to measure the power going to this reactive load, but I would rather not have to set up a VI.

    http://zone.ni.com/devzone/conceptd....ode=DZ52011_US
     
  5. MikeKaz

    MikeKaz Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone know how to measure the power going to a reactive load?
     

Share This Page