1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Power Output of SVS Amp

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by MikeKaz, Apr 27, 2004.

  1. MikeKaz

    MikeKaz Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have an amplifier that I got from SVS to power my sub, the Samson S1000. I am using it to run a speaker for an engineering application, and I need to know how I can measure the power output from the amplifier for a given volume setting. I have seen rather involved methods of measuring it using an oscilloscope and a voltmeter, but I was wondering if there were devices which could measure the power output to the speaker directly.

    Thank you
    Mike Kazlauskas
     
  2. Greg_R

    Greg_R Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2000
    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Real Name:
    Greg
    I'm confused... a voltmeter (and oscilloscope) will measure the power directly. Hook up the voltmeter to the load's terminals and measure the power with the voltmeter. If the voltmeter doesn't have a 'power' setting, measure the DC voltage and current. Power = current * voltage. The number will obviously change at different volume settings.

    If you need a more complex measurement, please elaborate. RMS power can be determined but not while you are driving a speaker (since it's a reactive load).
     
  3. Mike SJ

    Mike SJ Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. MikeKaz

    MikeKaz Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's the thing- I need the power that is actually going through the speaker, not just the power output from the amp for a given setting across a dummy load. I am running a sine tone if this makes it easier. I know that there are actual power measurement devices or power measurment software packages that can be used with oscilloscopes to measure instananeous power. Theres at least one way I could use a regular digital multimeter to measure the power going to this reactive load, but I would rather not have to set up a VI.

    http://zone.ni.com/devzone/conceptd....ode=DZ52011_US
     
  5. MikeKaz

    MikeKaz Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone know how to measure the power going to a reactive load?
     

Share This Page