1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Power cuts out on Pioneer receiver...

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Kevin_R_H, Oct 22, 2002.

1. Kevin_R_H

Kevin_R_H Stunt Coordinator

Hello all. I own a Pioneer VSXD-908S receiver, which I have been using for about 4 months. Just recently, I hooked rear speakers up to this receiver. Until then, I had only mains, center and sub.

Since the rear speakers have been added, the power of the receiver clicks off after about 40 minutes of CD and/or DVD pleasure. I turn the power back on, and it will stay on for maybe 1 minute. After that it won't stay on at all. It almost acts as if it is overheating.

Two points:
    1) If I then turn off the source (CD / DVD), the receiver stays on - no problem.
    2) Or if I disconnect the wires to the rear speakers, the receiver stays on - no problem.

What could be happening that would cause the presence of Speaker wires to power off this amp (only if there is a signal coming through)??

Thanks for any help and/or insight.

2. Brae

Brae Supporting Actor

Kevin,

Am I seeing double, or was this posted elsewhere? AVS?

3. Kevin_R_H

Brae,

Are you sure?? With the same amp??

It wasn't me. I did call their Warranty Dept yesterday. If these guys are looking for help fixing my receiver on one of these boards, I've got a real problem.

I hope your reply doesn't keep someone with insight from assisting me.

Kevin

4. Brae

Brae Supporting Actor

Sorry, my bad. It was someone on HTF and the 608 model. Read that thread here, by Gary Coker.
    Maybe you two can get together and but heads? I've been similar things on AVS, and HTF, regarding the VSX-45TX and shutdown condition testing.
    Cheers!

5. John Royster

John Royster Screenwriter

At what volume level are you listening? If its low level then something is awry.