power bars and 20 amp curcuits

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Andrew Pratt, May 8, 2002.

  1. Andrew Pratt

    Andrew Pratt Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 1998
    Messages:
    3,806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What would happen if I plugged a surge protected power bar into a 20 amp curcuit?
     
  2. Greg_R

    Greg_R Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2000
    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Real Name:
    Greg
    It would work until the load exceeded the maximum rating of the surge protector or the circuit breaker.
     
  3. Andrew Pratt

    Andrew Pratt Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 1998
    Messages:
    3,806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So given that its a 15A surgeprotector I'll be ok untill the demand for current exceeds 15A? If that the case I'll be fine since this will only have the pre pro and sources on it, the amps will all be on the other 20 guage line.
     
  4. jeff lam

    jeff lam Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Real Name:
    Jeff Lam
    I had a powerbar once, tasted great and gave me lot's of energy too. The Apple flavor is my favorite, although I wouldn't suggest you stick it in a 20 Amp circuit unless you like toasted/melted powerbars.

    J/K.

    You will be fine on that circuit with plenty to spare.
     

Share This Page