Posts are not showing up

Derek Miner

Screenwriter
Joined
Feb 22, 1999
Messages
1,663
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I posted replies in two threads this morning, the Monty Python Live thread in Software, and the Buffytastic thread in TV. The threads bumped up in the listing, but I can't see my posts.
= Derek =
 

Derek Miner

Screenwriter
Joined
Feb 22, 1999
Messages
1,663
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Perhaps this is related to cookies/new server issues, but things just weren't behaving the way I was used to.
I restarted my computer and came back again, and my replies were STILL missing. However, when I shift-reloaded the page, there I was...
So the problem was here, but only because I'm used to not having to do anything extra to see my posts after finishing. Weird.
= Derek =
Funny... this reply showed up fine. And *slaps forehead* I probably should have edited my original post instead of replying to it...
[Edited last by Derek Miner on October 22, 2001 at 09:19 AM]
 

Parker Clack

Schizophrenic Man
Moderator
Joined
Jun 30, 1997
Messages
12,227
Reaction score
88
Points
9,110
Location
Kansas City, MO
Real Name
Parker
Derek:
I am sure that it is related to the change in server locations. It is probably also cookie related and you need to make sure that you don't have two cookies for this same server and the old one.
So read up about deleting your old cookies and saving a new one. This should resolve the situation for you.
Parker
 

Jay H

Producer
Joined
Mar 22, 1999
Messages
5,654
Reaction score
33
Points
0
Location
Pittsfield, MA
Real Name
Jay
FYI, the "missing posts"/wrong cache version is still affecting me. I'm using hometheaterforum now and not the IP number and it's been a couple days. I just deleted and restored my cookie and it's still happening on and off. Sometimes its fine and sometimes I have to reload but it seems Netscape 4.77 is still using cached versions.
Dunno if that will go away in a few more days but I never had this problem before. Have to reload when viewing a thread I have viewed previously in my cache, hopefully not causing more of a server load

Jay
 

Parker Clack

Schizophrenic Man
Moderator
Joined
Jun 30, 1997
Messages
12,227
Reaction score
88
Points
9,110
Location
Kansas City, MO
Real Name
Parker
Jay:
I would double check your browser setting and make sure it is not cacheing the pages then. Even though it didn't do this before I would make sure that Netscape isn't do this first.
Parker
 

Jay H

Producer
Joined
Mar 22, 1999
Messages
5,654
Reaction score
33
Points
0
Location
Pittsfield, MA
Real Name
Jay
options in Netscape should be OK. I actually switched the cache option from "once per session" to "every time" and also changed the cookie setting from "originating server" to "all cookies" but seems to be still doing it. Having to reload...
don't know what else to check? ideas?
Jay
 

Jay H

Producer
Joined
Mar 22, 1999
Messages
5,654
Reaction score
33
Points
0
Location
Pittsfield, MA
Real Name
Jay
Could this be a firewall/proxy server problem? I just noticed it in a completely different website. Same problem, different place.. Perhaps it isn't me or the HTF that was messing around?
Jay
 

Forum Sponsors

Forum statistics

Threads
343,768
Messages
4,689,466
Members
141,039
Latest member
magnificent9