Possible new DLP TV Problem?

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Sidney, Feb 7, 2005.

1. Sidney

Sidney Stunt Coordinator

I just bought a Mitsubishi 52725 52" DLP TV. When I watch DVDs such as Saving Private Ryan, and MIB, I notice that the picture is very dark. This very noticeable during scenes that occur at night.. and I can see that half of the face of the actor is so dark it looks black (D day, and night scenes in MIB). I checked my settings on the TV and it was set to auto adjust the settings.. all the settings were nominal except for contrast, it was set to max! Well I adjusted the settings such as brightness and contrast and couldn't get the faces clearer.

Also note I couldn't get AVIA's Black level test to show up the white moving bars from adjusting my settings.

Does this sound like a bad TV?

Since I'm not a expert I'm not sure whether I should just bring the TV back and exchange for a new one, return it or just complain to the store (Good Guys) and have them send someone out to look at it.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks

2. John S

John S Producer

Nope, on your dvd player see if you can find a setting that says Black level, change it to the other setting.

There are two standards, the display and source device such a DVD player need to agree.

3. Sidney

Sidney Stunt Coordinator

I don't believe I have that control on my DVD. Should have thought of that since I had that forum about the AVIA.. I'll check tonight, but I'm pretty sure I don't have that option.

4. John S

John S Producer

Look for it on your display too... I am banking they are not agree'n, even if there is no setting.

I had to change it on my friends DVD/VCR combo for his new widescreen HDTV too by the way.

5. Sidney

Sidney Stunt Coordinator

I don't remember seeing black level settings for my TV either.. but I'll definitely look into it. Thanks for the suggestions.