Possible first date soon...... Looking for some female and male advice.

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by Erin C, Feb 4, 2004.

1. Erin C

Erin C Stunt Coordinator

I'm getting ready to ask out my friends sister,and I am a complete novice to the whole dating world,plus I am very shy and quiet. Does the single rose work? She has been exposed to my comedic style,is that appropriate for a first date to lighten the mood,break the ice,etc.(in small doses of course)? Any input and/or advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks!!!

2. Carl Johnson

Carl Johnson Cinematographer

Carl III
    I'd say the single rose sounds like a good idea, and when it comes to conversation just be yourself. Talk to her like you would one of your male friends. If you style is comedic then let it all hang out. Hopefully she will appreciate it but even if she doesn't she's not worth your time. If you're into telling jokes and she doesn't have a sense of humor then why waste your time on a second date?

3. Mike Graham

Mike Graham Supporting Actor

While its a cliche, the real truth is just be yourself. I had two separate dates last year (it was my first year of university) where I ended up being really uptight and nervous, which is a complete turn off. However, when I met my girlfriend last fall, I just relaxed and acted like I would with an old friend, and it worked like a charm.

Bringing a flower would be a nice touch, but if the relationship continues remember not to be constantly giving gifts, as it'll make you seem insecure.

Try to talk about your interests a lot, but give her a chance to share her thoughts as well. Remember, she's more then likely just as nervous as you.

Good luck!

4. Holadem

Holadem Lead Actor