What's new

Polk vs Boston Acoustics for rear speakers (1 Viewer)

Scott Cunninghm

Stunt Coordinator
I have narrowed my choice of rear speakers down a bit. Currently I am looking at the Boston Acoustics "Bravo" models as my #1 choice. They are $200 apiece, but sound good, are white, and fit in a corner spot I need to mount them in. The #2 choice is the Polk Atrium M45's. These too sound decent, are small, white, and can be wall mounted, but are somewhat bulkier. They are also $200 a pair, half the cost of the BA models.

Unfortunately I cannot test them side by side (they are in 2 different stores) so I cant compare.

Does anyone have any experience with these two so that they could give a recommendation?

Evan M.

Supporting Actor
i have no experience with the polk but am very partial to bostons. the tweeter in the bravo's are i believe the same as the lynfield tweeter in the more expensive lines in bostons. it has a 4 1/2" mid which puts out very good sound. i know they are more expensive then the polks but they seem to be exactly what you need. in the world of home theater we always are going to upgrade (or at least want to upgrade :)) quite a bit. if you can swing for the bostons i would personaly do that so you won't regret it in a few months. i am not saying "dont get the polks!!!" it just sounds like the b.a.'s will fit your application much better. good luck.

Jose G

Supporting Actor
I second the Bostons simply because I have Boston's all around and love them. They are older Bostons, but they sound better than some of the newer models in my opinion. I have heard the Bravos as surrounds with higher end Bostons and was quite impressed.

RichardH

Supporting Actor
Not to state the obvious, but why not match your mains/center?

If that doesn't matter, then I would go the cheaper route since you're not hearing the surrounds that much anyways. Put the extra money towards upgrading some other part of your theater. IMO

Scott Cunninghm

Stunt Coordinator