What's new

Polk RTi38s vs JBL S38II (1 Viewer)

Raj_asaurus

Stunt Coordinator
I am leaning toward the RTi38s just because they are slightly smaller and are sold at a better dealer than the S38II. What do you guys think between these two?

I'm going to be pairing these with a Panasonic SA XR-25 Receiver and a Dayton 10" sub.

AaronJB

Second Unit
I have no experience with the Polks, but I just got the S38IIs this past week, since they are at a very reasonable price due to the fact that they are discontinued. They are very large speaks for "bookshelf" status (they weigh just less than 30 pounds each), but they provide a very rich, dynamic sound that I'm pleased with. I've also been thrilled with the S-Center - the center with the Studio series.

TylerZ

Stunt Coordinator
I am using a pair of Polk RTi38's as front speakers down in the kids recroom system. IMO they are a very good sounding speaker. Now that Polks new RT line has come out you should be able to find them for a very attractive price. BTW the shipping weight is 42lbs/pair.

Joseph Sabato

Stunt Coordinator
First, I would not get hung up over what dealer you are buying them from, unless you plan to trade up in a short period of time and the "better dealer" has a good trade in policy.

Both are good sounding speakers at moderate volumes; the Polks will give you a more laid back sound than the JBL's, which are a little more "in your face" but nowhere near what old JBL's were like. When it comes to dynamics and the ability to play at high volumes cleanly, the JBL's are a much better choice than the Polks. They also have better bass response, when Tom Nousaine tested them, the maximum bass output at 10% distortion was > 90db at 32HZ which is better than a lot of small subs can do.