Polk RTi28 or Axiom M3ti

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by Kalvin Liu, Jul 20, 2003.

1. Kalvin Liu

Kalvin Liu Auditioning

Hi im pretty new to home theater and just recently bought my first pair of speakers which are polk rti28's for $200. After a few days i stumbled upon axiom audio and their line of speakers. My question is, are the axiom speakers worth the extra hassle and the money? Are there any other speakers i shouldve looked at before i bought the polks? BTW, its not that i dont like the polks because i really do, im just wondering if i am missing anything by buying the polks so quickly.

2. ShaunLB

ShaunLB Stunt Coordinator

Slow down and sniff the roses Kalvin... You've done fine so far, the RTi28's are excellent little speakers for a very fair price. You've already said you really enjoy them, so don't stress. I have their older counterpart, the RT25i's and a friend of mine has the Axiom M3ti's. We both agree that both pairs are excellent. Both will give you excellent imaging and clear and crisp mids/highs. For bass they are both good for their size, with maybe a small nod to the Polk's. My point? Enjoy your purchase, don't suffer from Premature-Upgraditis. [​IMG]

3. Andrew Pierce

Andrew Pierce Stunt Coordinator

Andrew Pierce
    I'd say its a matter of taste -- on the high end, you'll get somewhat brighter highs from Axiom's titanium tweeter or the ever so slightly laid back highs the Polk's silk polymer composite tweeter. Both sound good, it comes down your preference. On the low end, the Axiom may get the nod on low frequency extension, but not by a lot, and you'll want a sub with either anyway.