Polk RTi12 vs LSi15

Discussion in 'Speakers & Subwoofers' started by JimmyJ, Jun 5, 2005.

1. JimmyJ

JimmyJ Auditioning

Im a novice and need some help in deciding between the 2 speakers Polk RTi12 vs LSi15. I will also get the matching center to go with them and drive them with a Denon 3805 with an SVS sub. They will only be used for HT. I am tempted to go with the lsi, but the 4 OHms is making me nervous.

Any advice

2. John Garcia

John Garcia Executive Producer

John
    The LSis would definitely be the better speakers, IMO. I'd probably want more power for them than the 3805, but it should work adequately until you picked up a separate amp to drive 2 or more of them - the LSiFX surrounds (or 7s) are also 4 Ohm.

3. Edward J M

Edward J M Cinematographer

The 3805 will not drive LSi reliably. It will get very hot and/or shut down. This issue of Denon AVR and LSi compatibility has been discussed at Club Polk many times and the general consensus is it's a bad idea. The 3805 will, however, make a fine pre/pro, and an external multi-channel amp (Outlaws are common with Polk owners) will work fine.

4. John Garcia

John
    I have a Marantz 8300 and I drive 3 4 Ohm speakers up front, which are similar in spec to LSi9s. I ended up adding monoblocks because the 8300 did not sound totally happy at elevated levels. After adding amps, all is good.

5. JonStern

JonStern Agent

I originally had an all-LSi HT setup which made me sufficiently unhappy to start from the beginning and get RTis. I couldn't be happier now with the LSis shining in a music-only system and the RTis delivering big time for HT. My biggest gripe was with the LSiC: dialog was just hard to hear without boosting the volume 3 or 4db despite matching levels initially with a meter. When I received the CSi5 I was in shock: it's about 3 times the size of the LSiC! Exactly what you need to handle the heavy-duty HT center channel.