What's new

Polk or Definitive Technology Soundbar? (1 Viewer)

alancca

Auditioning
Real Name
Alan
Ok, I would like to hear from those who have experience with using either polk or definitive technology sound bars.

I have a 32" lcd in the master bedroom and am replacing a bose 321 system which I never liked. I can't do a rear speaker run in this room, so am going with a passive sound bar, powered sub, and hooking it up to a hdmi receiver. No blueray but using dvds as well.

I am having a hard time deciding which soundbar to go with based on cost performance, as well as width of the sound bar for mounting on wall.

Polk has a sweet deal going on with a free psw-111 subwoofer if buying polk audio speakers valued at $400+
http://www.crutchfield.com/cgi-bin/Prodview.asp?i=107PSW111B

Option 1

I could go with the Soundbar50 (52" wide) at $749 and get the sub for free. This would be quite wide on the wall though.
http://www.crutchfield.com/cgi-bin/Prodview.asp?i=735MYSSA42

Optiion 2

Or I could go with the original polk soundbar (42" wide) on sale for $399, ad a couple of small polk satellite bookshelfs for 149 and get the sub for free so total cost $549. I could use the 2 extra satellites and configure them as side rears even though they would be up front near the tv.

Option 3

Going the Definitve Technology route with there SS-42 sound bar at $799 and adding the polk sub for $299 puts me at $1098. Is it worth that much?

If anyone has experience with these Soundbars and can provide advise I would appreciate your thoughts!

Thanks

Alan

Jason Charlton

Ambassador
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jason Charlton
Originally Posted by alancca

Optiion 2

I could use the 2 extra satellites and configure them as side rears even though they would be up front near the tv.