PO'ed Bartender!! Don't Drink and Drive!

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by Dave Simpson, Jun 4, 2005.

1. Dave Simpson

Dave Simpson Second Unit

Kindly bear with me, as I'm presently pissed. As in pissed off. And I'm feeling somewhat powerless. I tend a bar for a living; been doing it for greater than 15 years. It's an okay living (surely could be worse), the schedule is always flexible, I've got plenty of free time, and I often get to shoot the breeze with some really swell gals ('tho I happily co-habitate with an HT-lovin' cutie). But man...the worst part of any bar gig is dealing with drunken fools. Here's tonight's sordid tale: the dude entered the bar without my knowledge because I took a quick moment to have a smoke outside (my fault for not being more vigilant). The young, and easily intimidated, waitress thought she would help me out and serve the fellow, rather than interrupt my stay in Flavour Country (again, my fault). Upon my return to my post, it was readily apparent that the guy, with a beer before him, was rifled out out of his noggin. Now this chap is a semi-regular customer, whose habits are certainly not unknown to me. "How did you get here?", I quizzed? "Same way I always do...", he mumbled, with a mouth full of marbles. After much back and forth, it was determined that he had every intention of driving his mini-van once done with my service. Nothin' doing, says I, and I was able to gently pry the beer from his hand before he even had a a sip (I wound up paying for, and drinking, his crappy beer). Here in Ontario, we are not liable if the customer is denied any service (and that includes a glass of water). I implored him not to drive, and indeed, suggested that if he did drive, to find another bar for the future. A second waitress was outraged enough to attempt to summon the law, but couldn't find the number in the book for a non-911 situation (I was dealing with last call, and was therfore too busy at the time to get on