What's new

Please, no laughs... (1 Viewer)

zaxeiler

Auditioning
Real Name
Zac
Alright fellas,

I'm posting here because I would view this to be one of the foremost communities on home theater equipment. I've been a long time viewer of this site, reading reviews, etc. but have never posted. So here it is, my big problem.

I'm still a college student and have a very limited budget so as the title says, please no laughs. Either way, I recently purchased a Vizio 24" 1080p LCD TV. I've also gotten a new bluray player. So, I'm trying to construct a modest home theater, but don't have the money yet for a speaker set/amplifier, etc.

To improvise, I'm trying to use an old 5.1 computer speaker set that I had around. It's input was designed to use the three 3.5mm mini stereo jacks that ran from the sound card of a computer, to the back of the sub. However, now that I'm trying to connect it to the TV, there aren't 3 such outputs anymore, so I need a new solution. The site for the 5.1 set (Creative) suggests using a male rca (red and white) to male mini stereo to substitute. Three of these connections will make up for the three inputs I would be getting from a sound card. However, the back of my TV does not provide 6 rca outputs to compliment such a signal. It will provide 2 (1 signal) only.

Do you know of any way to connect my current 5.1 set and still retain surround sound signal? My other thought was to use the optical output on the back of my TV, but I have no idea how to go about connecting that to the sub.

Any help, or push in the right direction would be appreciated. I wish I could just afford a different set, but now, just trying to make due.

Here's a link to the TVs manual, that shows the back of the TV on page 12:
vizio.com/documents/downloads/hdtv/VX240M/263Manual.pdf