What's new

Please Help with suggestions on theater layout (1 Viewer)

JesseSt

Agent
Hi All,

I am new to HT and am replacing my JVC 48" RPTV with an Infocus X1 but I have a bit of a dilemna.

My basement room for the HT is 280" long by 140" wide which would be well and fine except that I have a 3' wide duct running width wise through the room. The duct hangs down about 14" from the ceiling.

My first thought was that I would mount the X1 in front of the duct so that you wouldn't even see it when you were seated in viewing position which is behind the duct. However, if mounted in that position, I would only have about 89" from lens to the wall where the image would be projected. This would only render about a 59" max diagonal screen.

Considering I've got a 140" wide wall, I had hoped to go a bit larger.

Option two is to ceiling mount the X1 back from the duct a couple of feet, which would make it visible to viewers in seated area but I could live with that. However, with the duct hanging down about 14", would it be in the way of the top of the projected image?

Potential option three would be to floor mount the projector in the open space of my coffee table.

Anyone have any insight/suggestions? Please let me know if I haven't explained it clearly enough...I could get pictures as well. Plan on doing some experimenting once I get the projector but would like to have somewhat of a plan in place before it arrives. Many thanks in advance.

-Jesse

Jack Ferry

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Jack Ferry
What is your ceiling height? I would think you could go behind the duct work and lower the projector as needed with either a bar-type mounting bracket or build a hanging platform.

(I'm hoping you get lots of good suggestions. My room has similar dimensions, 20+ft x 13 ft x 7 ft, and with my low ceiling I'll probably be looking at similar issues.)

JesseSt

Agent
Hey Jack,