What's new

Please Help with my first system. (1 Viewer)

jf2oo6

Auditioning
Real Name
jason
Hi all this is my first post here. I am looking for a nice 5.1 or maybe even 7.1 setup. This is my first time with any of this so I am very new. I have a decent knowledge of car audio, but dont know much about home audio. This system will be a gift for my girlfriend, so I dont want it to be overly complex.

This set up will be hooked up to her lcd tv. All she has connected to it right now is a PS3, and her cable box. The PS3 I know can just use one of the hdmi inputs on the receiver, but what about the cable box? The cable box is connected to her tv right now using a coaxial cable (I think thats the cable. The old style one that screws into the wall, with the wire in the center?). Is there an input for this on the back of the receiver? Also I would like to be able to switch the surround sound off if need be. For instance, if she just wants to watch tv without surround sound.

So I was thinking would I be better of going with a HTIB? I like the idea of buying everything in one shot so I dont have to worry about forgetting some stuff. I dont want her to open it and find I still need more parts when setting it up. But if you guys suggest that piecing together a system is really the better option I can do that too.

Please give me some advice and suggestions guys, Thank You.

gene c

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Gene
Buying pieces one-by-one usually results in better performance but the price is almost always a little higher.

For all-in-one systems Onkyo is usually the best choice. They come with a real receiver and real speakers packaged together and since she has a PS3 that can be used as her dvd/bluray player.

We need a pretty solid budget before we can start to recommend models.