Please help with insulation question - complete HT construction noob

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by MuneebM, Mar 2, 2004.

1. MuneebM

MuneebM Supporting Actor

As the subject of my post indicates, I'm a complete noob to HT construction, so please be gentle.

I live in a semi-detached house, which means I share a wall with my next-door neighbor. I have my HT set up in my basement, front of the HT along the shared wall, no other choice given the arrangement of my basement.

I was recently testing out my 2 subs (HSU STF-2 and Dayton 10") with one in the left corner and the other in the right corner. Given this set up, both the subs have their ports firing into the shared wall. After about 10 minutes of extreme non-stop bass, my doorbell rang and low and behold it was my neighbor. She politely asked me to turn down my subwoofer because her entire main floor was shaking. Although I had a rather large grin on my face due to the satisfaction that my subs are that powerful, I felt bad and immediately moved my Dayton 10" out of the front corner and into the back wall, behind my couches.

So, last night I was watching Blade 2 at about 8 dB below ref level on my AVR's dial, with the HSU in the front firing into the shared wall and the Dayton in the back behind my couch, and my doorbell rang again. It was my neighbor's husband this time and he told me that he "doesn't wanna sound like a complainer" but he has a glass table on his main floor that is rattling like a bitch. I was rather inclined to tell him to put some felt padding to make that table stop rattling, but instead I apologized and continued watching the movie at a lower volume [​IMG]